High School Coaching History

Des Moines Lincoln has a rich history of coaches that have trained the Women’s teams, Men’s teams, and a few that have coached both teams at the same time. Two former coaches have been honored as part of the Iowa Coaches Hall of Fame, and one was named the Iowa Coach of the Year in 1973.

The current Lincoln Pool opened in 1967. Before this, the coaches held practice at the old pool (now the Lincoln Band room) and as part of Des Moines Tech (now known as Central Campus). Many of these coaches have gone on to continue their support of swimming in Des Moines by becoming swim meet officials.

Men’s Swim Team Coaching History

  • Lorin Graff: 1932-1967
           Coaches Hall of Fame Inductee
  • Tom Cady: 1967-1975; 1985-1986; 1998-1999
            Iowa Coach of the Year 1973
    LHS Hall of Fame Inductee 2009
  • Jim Hickman: 1975-1978
  • Bob Crawford: 1978-1985
  • Stan Thompson: 1986-1998
  • Corinne Kealy: 1999-2002
  • Erin Lowe: 2002-2008 (for the Lincoln-East combined team)
  • Brayton Weber: 2008 – 2022 (Lincoln only)
  • Minge Song: 2022 – Present

Women’s Swim Team Coaching History

  • Tom Cady: 1967-1979; 1986-1988
             Coaches Hall of Fame Inductee
    LHS Hall of Fame Inductee 2009
  • Bob Crawford: 1980-1984
  • Dan Paulson: 1985; 1989-1990
  • Dan Johnson: 1991-2001
  • Corinne Kealy: 2002-2004
  • Brayton Weber: 2005 – 2022
  • Minge Song: 2022 – Present
%d bloggers like this: