Rails are Regular Season Champs!

The Rails had a few big goals this season and the guys just reached another one – defeating Roosevelt to become regular season conference champions for the first time since 2011! The men’s team has beaten Roosevelt only four times in school history – 1989, 1993, 2011 and 2017. The win puts the guys 5-o in the conference and 8-1 overall this season.

This year’s win is believed to be the largest margin of victory yet – 99-71. The meet started off with the Rails taking 1st and 3rd in the medley relay. From there, the guys were unstoppable! They won the 200 Free, 200 IM, 100 Fly, 500 Free, 100 Back, 100 Breaststroke and the 400 Free Relay. But a win like this isn’t just about the first place swims, it requires 2nd, 3rd and 4th place finishes too. In fact, the Rails never trailed in the meet. On top of such an important meet, it was also senior night!

Senior night marks the last time they’ll swim at home in dual meet as a member of the Rails Men’s team. Together they’ve built great memories, shared in triumphs and disappointments and helped each other grow into the great young men they are today. And after a win like tonight – this is even more true. Now as they look to the future, we hope they’ll remember the past when they come back as alums to cheer on future Rails. Congratulations again to Domenic Gardner, Devin Greenwood, Ryan Jump, Riley May, Tyler Whitehead, and Cooper Worth!!

Meet Highlights
Below are a few highlights from the meet. In meets like this – it’s hard to recognize everyone’s great performance, as there are so many! Great job to all the guys!

  • Rails Medley (Greenwood, Whitehead, Worth, Clark) won in a season best time
  • Miguel Espinoza won the 200 Free in 1:58.87
    • Konnor Klocke took 3rd with 2:01
    • Nick Worthington took 4th with 2:03
  • Cooper Worth, senior, won the 200 IM in an impressive 2:07
    • Devin Greenwood, senior, took 3rd in a 2:14
    • Domenic Gardner, senior, took 4th with a 2:21
  • Brayden Clark gave RHS’s Gaer a race and took 2nd in the 50 Free with a personal best of 22.87
    • Riley May, senior, took 3rd with a 24.30
    • Logan Neifert took 4th with a 24.75
  • Cooper Worth won the 100 Fly in an untampered best time of 57.58
    • Reese Virdin took 4th in 1:04.21
    • Domenic Gardner took 5th in 1:04.24
  • Brayden Clark took 2nd in the 100 Free with a personal best, 50.53
    • Riley May took 5th in a 55
  • Javier Santiago won the 500 Free in a 5:19.57
    • Miguel Espinoza took 2nd in 5:26.55
    • Nick Worthington took 4th in a 5:47.58
  • Rails 200 Free Relay (Clark, May, Neifert, Klocke) took 2nd with a season best 1:37.30
  • Devin Greenwood won the 100 Back in a season best 57.28
    • Javier Santiago took 2nd with a personal best time – 59.81
    • Griffin McCollough took 5th in a 1:05.79
  • Tyler Whitehead, senior, won the 100 Breaststroke in an untapered best time of 1:05.05
    • Ryan Jump, senior, took 4th with a 1:14, a season best!

Below are a some photos from the meet. There are over 300 on the team’s photo website (link in the upper-right). Log-in to your Shutterfly account is required to download any photos.


%d bloggers like this: