Girls Celebrate at End-Of-Season Banquet

The high school women’s team concluded their season with the team banquet on Monday evening (11/11/13).  The girls and their families all gathered to celebrate the hard work and the successful year. After a delicious dinner (by Barratta’s), the girls were awarded their junior varsity or varsity letters. After that, team awards were announced. You can read more about each award and see photos below.

This year’s award winners are:

Most Valuable Player: Alex Bennett
Tom Cady Achievement Award: Olivia Simpson
Rookie of the Year: Sara Bennett
Most Improved: Anna Dotts and Jordyn DuBois
Workhorse Award: Ane Skartvedt
Spirit Award: Valeria Santiago
Team Captains: Alex Bennett, Abby Harrison, Olivia Simpson, and Emilie Skartvedt

Thank You!
The coaches would like to say a big thank you to all of our families and swimmers for our coaching gifts! It was a great pleasure to work with your daughters all season and we’re looking forward to the 2014 season already! We hope to see many of you and your daughters at the boys home meets this season. Go Rails!

Award Descriptions
Most Valuable Player (Outstanding Swimmer or Diver of the Year Award):
This award is given to a swimmer that displays team leadership and excellent swimming abilities.  Prior to 2005, the award was given only to swimmers who had been members of the team for at least two years. In 2005, the requirements were changed to allow a swimmer of any age displaying outstanding leadership skills and swimming ability to receive the MVP award.

Tom Cady Achievement Award: This award was created and started with the Girls Swim Team in 2007, 40 years after Tom Cady first became a Lincoln swim coach. It’s given out to a swimmer or diver that displays a year-long dedication to the sport of swimming, and thus a dedication to the Lincoln Swim Team.  This award recognizes a swimmer or diver for their dedication, not just their ability. This award was named after to Tom to thank him for his life long dedication to the sport of swimming and, more specifically, to Lincoln High School.

Rookie of the Year: This award is given to the best “rookie” of the season. It recognizes a team newcomer for their contributions made to the team including ability, dedication and success in competition. The award doesn’t have to be given to a freshman, but rather can be awarded to any swimmer who completed their first season on the team.

Most-Improved: This award can be awarded using two sets of criteria, the swimmer that improved the most during one season or the swimmer that improved the most from the prior season. Often, there is a winner using each set of criteria because both improvements deserve recognition and acknowledgement.

Workhorse Award: This award, simply put, is given to the athlete who works the hardest. They are at practice on time, don’t miss sets during practice, and don’t miss practices in general. They put a lot of effort into the season, and this award recognizes that hard work.

Spirit Award: This award was founded in 2006. Old warm-ups were found in the pool area, but one set was different from the rest and became the Spirit Award.  The award recognizes the swimmer who is the team’s greatest supporter. She motivates the other girls, cheers during meets, organizes social activities and more. This swimmer is often the glue that helps keep the team together during the long, tough season. The winner receives a plaque, their name embroidered on the warm-ups, and they add something of their own to the outfit. The entire Spirit Award collection is housed in a box that stays with the winner each season.

Team Captains: Team Captains are awarded at the end of each season by the coaches. Usually several captains are chosen throughout the season before each meet to motivate the team. In the past, being a Meet Captain was tied to that week’s performance and effort in practice. The Team Captains are the athletes that demonstrated great leadership ability throughout the season on a consistent basis. This year, we did something a little different and told the seniors that team motivation was their responsibility, as a result – all seniors earned the designation of Team Captain.

Banquet Photos

%d bloggers like this: